Who is the Heath Big Local?

The Heath Big Local is managed by a group of local residents and organisations, which was formally constituted as the Heath Big Local Partnership in October 2013.

There are specific rules laid down by the Local Trust about how the Partnership should be structured. The Partnership must meet the following membership criteria:

  • There must be at least eight members.
  • At least 51% of members must be individuals who normally live within The Heath Big Local’s boundaries.
  • A majority (at least 51%) of members are involved in their own right, and not formally representing the interests of other organisations.
  • The Partnership consists of a Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson and Secretary with other officers.
  • The first members of the Partnership will be nominated by the Steering Group with nominations also invited from residents, and will be subject to approval at the Launch event. In subsequent years members of the Partnership will be appointed by the Annual Residents’ Meeting.

The Partnership

To comply with these requirements, the Steering Group nominated a list of people, and elections took place at the launch event. The Partnership currently comprises the following:


Chair (Acting): Mary Dodgson
Secretary: Lynne Shelton

Voting Members

Ken Baxter
Rupert Hill
Rev. Margaret Sherwin

Non-Voting Members

Chair (Acting): Mary Dodgson
Secretary: Lynne Shelton
Nathan Cooper
Neil Langford
Nicola Wood

The Partners have all signed up to a Code of Practice document. If you’d like to read this document, click here.


The Heath Big Local funds come ultimately from the Big Lottery Fund part of the National Lottery, via the Local Trust.

Local Trust is a non-profit company operated by a charity called Big Local Trust. Local Trust’s company registration number is 783336, and its registered charity number is 1147511. Big Local Trust’s charity number is 1147511.

Affiliated Organisations

As well as the individual members, the Partnership also includes representatives from local organisations who have a stake in community activities in the area:

  • East Staffordshire Borough Council


The following organisations have expressed their support for Heath Big Local, and we hope to involve them in our activities:

  • 50 Plus Forum
  • Burton Albion Community Trust
  • Burton Youth for Christ
  • Churches Together
  • Citizens Advice Bureau
  • Creative Technology (MicroDesign) Ltd
  • Derbyshire Dales Careline
  • East Staffordshire Borough Council
  • East Staffordshire Community Voluntary Service
  • Friends of Bramshall Road Park
  • MY Theatre Group
  • Oldfields Hall Middle School
  • Staffordshire County Council – Detached Targeted Youth Scheme
  • St Mary’s C of E (A) First School
  • Thomas Alleynes High School
  • Trent and Dove Housing
  • Tynsel Parkes C of E (VC) First School
  • Uttoxeter Business Forum
  • Uttoxeter Community Church
  • Uttoxeter Knights
  • Uttoxeter Library
  • Uttoxeter Neighbourhood Watch and Crime Prevention Panel
  • Uttoxeter Town Council
  • Uttoxeter Town Football Club
  • Youth Drop-In Centre